Rossi 92 .38/.357 Feeding Problem

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
rdouglasc
Levergunner

Rossi 92 .38/.357 Feeding Problem

Post by rdouglasc »

Hi guys. I'm a newbie to lever action. I bought a Rossi 92 .38/.357 and had a lot of fun shooting the .38 special rounds. They cycled without a hitch. The gun had problems feeding the .357 rounds though. I had to play with it quite a bit to get it to feed correctly each time. The front edge of the shell is hanging up as the lever is brought back up. The ammo I used was Remington UMC .357 Magnum 125 GR. JSP which was the only .357 ammo available. Is this common and is there a fix for it or is the ammo wrong?
3leggedturtle
Advanced Levergunner

Re: Rossi 92 .38/.357 Feeding Problem

Post by 3leggedturtle »

Hi welcome aboard. More knowledge folks will have more info than me. I got lucky my 357 Puma feeds everything great. Tho some others have to realy work the action hard to get rounds to chamber smoothly. Hopefully it will fix itself with some shooting. Or dry firing. 3leg / Todd
30/30 Winchester: Not accurate enough fer varmints, barely adequate for small deer; BUT In a 10" to 14" barrelled pistol; is good for moose/elk to 200 yards; ground squirrels to 300 metres

250 Savage... its what the 223 wishes it could be...!
dracothered
Levergunner 1.0

Post by dracothered »

It might be the detent for the feed / lift ramp that is causing the issue. But I am only guessing as I am by far only a beginner with these fine Rossi rifles.
earlmck
Advanced Levergunner

Post by earlmck »