OT: How vital is a Chronograph

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Bigahh
Levergunner 3.0

OT: How vital is a Chronograph

Post by Bigahh »

Can someone explain to me the importance of a Chronograph? I am sure the hand loader needs one more than the guy shooting factory loads, but why? Please talk me into buying one.
Terry Murbach
Shootist

Re: OT: How vital is a Chronograph

Post by Terry Murbach »

DID ONE OF US HAVE TO TALK YOU INTO BUYING A SPEEDOMETER FOR YOUR TRUCK ??
RIDE, SHOOT STRAIGHT, AND SPEAK THE TRUTH
J Miller
Member Emeritus

Post by J Miller »

Bigahh,

I have been loading my ammo for almost 40 years. I do not own nor have I ever owned a chronograph. My ammo works good ... but in reality I have no idea what velocity I'm getting from it.

The loading data you use is only a generic guide, the velocity it lists is only good for the test gun and components they used.
Your gun and components WILL vary.

Why does a hand loader need a chronograph? To verify the velocity of his ammo.
Or to work up smokeless loads for 1876 Copies that do not exceed black powder levels.

Do you absolutely have to have one ..... no. Would it make your ammo better, most likely.

Joe
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
Borregos
Advanced Levergunner

Post by Borregos »

A chronograph is not vital....however, if you handload it is an essential tool to tell you how consistant your handloads are.
I would not be without one.
IMO every handloader should have one and the great thing is they are not that expensive.
Pete