OT - Mil Surplus ammo

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
deerwhacker444
Senior Levergunner

OT - Mil Surplus ammo

Post by deerwhacker444 »

I posted this on the Mosin Nagant site and I wanted to get you guys opinions as well. I'm almost embarrassed to ask it but since I'm new to the Mil Surp arena I just don't have the answer.

I've been discussing this question with a fellow shooter at work. My question is, will the steel jacketed ammo that has a thin copper electroplate (1980 Bulgarian) erode or do damage to the bore of my M91/30 quicker than new manufacture PSP ammo? Can I shoot any 7.62x54R ammo thru my M91/30 without the fear of ruining the bore?

The friend at work says that the barrel of his SKS is chrome lined strictly for the reason of shooting this type of ammo. I've tried searching but have not found this issue addressed. What say you..?
"If ever a time should come, when vain and aspiring men
shall possess the highest seats in Government,
our country will stand in need of its experienced patriots
to prevent its ruin
." Samuel Adams
Hobie

Re: OT - Mil Surplus ammo

Post by Hobie »

I think the corrosive priming is a greater concern for my 1891.
Sincerely,

Hobie

"We are all travelers in the wilderness of this world, and the best that we find in our travels is an honest friend." Robert Louis Stevenson
Hillbilly
Levergunner 3.0

Post by Hillbilly »

The steel jacket on the COMBLOC ammo is supposed to be pretty soft. It shouldnt hurt the bore. You probably know this..but very hot water and ammonia will kill any corrosive primer residue.