All most all purpose 30-30 load - 150 or 170?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
J Miller
Member Emeritus

All most all purpose 30-30 load - 150 or 170?

Post by J Miller »

Sometime in the near future I'll have all three basic Win 94, 30-30 barrel lengths covered. 16", 20", and 26".

Although I've been shooting the 30-30 for close to 40+ years I've mostly used 150gr bullets. My thoughts on this was that since the 30-30 is not a high pressure magnum the 150gr bullet would give me the best velocity and straightest trajectory of the two weights.
I've shot some 170s occasionally, and for the most part have no recollection of them doing anything that would make me sit up and notice it.

So for those who have used the 30-30 with jacketed bullets enough to form a solid opinion; which jacketed bullet weight would you suggest for a one size for all three barrel lengths load, the 150gr or 170gr?

Joe
***Be sneaky, get closer, bust the cap on him when you can put the ball where it counts ;) .***
TedH
Advanced Levergunner

Re: All most all purpose 30-30 load - 150 or 170?

Post by TedH »

If you're just punching paper I don't see any reason to throw that extra 20 gr. of lead. I'd stick with the 150's.
NRA Life Member
Dave
Senior Levergunner

Post by Dave »

I have always used 170's just because they shot well out of my gun. They punch right through deer and hogs and I like that. It seems 150's are more popular but really I can't believe 20 grains of weight is that big a deal.
Blaine
Posting leader...

Post by Blaine »