1903 1894 32-40 Sluggin the Bore?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Jarhead
Levergunner 3.0

1903 1894 32-40 Sluggin the Bore?

Post by Jarhead »

I am new to 'cast bullets.' In fact, I have never done it before. I have a 1903 1894 that has a mint bore and I ordered some ammo from Buffalo Arms, but my groups are just OK. I'd like to get em' tighter and have been told that slugging the bore and then ordering or making cast bullets to that diameter will most likely help.
How in the heck do you slug a bore? I don't have a clue. I've always used 'store bought' bullets for reloading and hunting. Here's a pic of this rifle. It's a button mag and is original in every way with exception to the rear sight which has been plugged. Lyman # 2 tang sight with a Beech Global front sight.
Got to learn sometime :idea: and now's as good as any. Thanks in Advance.

Mike
Semper Fi
pokey
Advanced Levergunner

Re: 1903 1894 32-40 Sluggin the Bore?

Post by pokey »

first thing, nice rifle. :mrgreen:

next thing read this article, he's talking about sixguns but most of the info still
applies to any barrel shooting lead projectiles.

http://gunblast.com/FerminGarza-Firelapping.htm

good luck :wink:

oh yeah, quick way to slug a barrel- soft lead,[ hollow sinker maybe] push through bore
with wooden dowel, measure result with micrometer.
careful what you wish for, you might just get it.

"BECAUSE I CAN"
Jarhead
Levergunner 3.0

Post by Jarhead »

Pokey,