38/40.

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Leverdude
Senior Levergunner

38/40.

Post by Leverdude »

Got an 1889 Marlin 38/40 last week. All original cept for a screw & the sight elevator it looks like. The woods been oversanded though & about every screw is buggered. Bores not so good but the guy I got it from said it did good in cowboy action for him. We'll see, I'm not against getting it lined if I have too, I'm replacing the wood anyway. I need to change the fireing pin, get some brass, bullets & dies and see what happens. Couldnt beat the price. I'm a certified NRA instructor and I help a local guy out about once a month give the basic pistol course for carry permits. Last week he said "Merry Christmas in January Ken" and handed me the gun. I'm pretty tickled because I needed a 38/40 to complete the set. I have one in parts on my bench for a few years now but cant find time to get to it. This makes it alot easier, even better if the butstock I fitted to the parts gun fits on.

kimwcook
Advanced Levergunner

Re: 38/40.

Post by kimwcook »

Very nice. Looking forward to seeing it completed.
Old Law Dawg
Gobblerforge
Senior Levergunner

Post by Gobblerforge »

I love the 38WCF. No recoil and kills everything it hits. :wink: Good looking gun.
Gobbler
Click Click Boom
okdee
Levergunner 2.0

Post by okdee »

Nice rifle. I have relined one rifle and it shoots dot on! Decided against changin out the wood, kinda became attached to that old worn, beatup, but still capable of shooting well, look! Any way you go, it will be yours!
OkD
FAMILY
NRA LIFE
TSRA
SASS
HGCA
Life is Grand! Live it!

OKDEE
EdinCT
Levergunner 3.0