trimming and crimping 30-30

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
happyhunter
Levergunner

trimming and crimping 30-30

Post by happyhunter »

I have been reloading pistol ammo for a few years. Just recently started reloading bottleneck cases. Weird. The 30-30 is especially confusing with crimping the case. I don't think I do it right. A friend told me to skip trimming the case and to "bounce" crimp it. I don't think I am crimping enough because I found a couple that were pushed back after unloading after a hunt.

So first question: What is the trim to length for the case? My Hornady book does not list a trim to length, just a case length (I guess max length). I have the data from the Sierra book. It lists trim to as 2.029" but I have no other source to verify that.

Second question: after all the cases are the same length, how do I crimp? What should it look like? Like a 357 Mag case? All the factory 30-30 ammo I have seen has some crimp that looks like several "things" came in from the side and smashed the mouth against the bullet (not at all like a 357 Mag case)

Thanks for the help,
HH
FWiedner
Advanced Levergunner

Re: trimming and crimping 30-30

Post by FWiedner »

My Hornady lists the trim length as 2.029", 8th Ed. Pg 459.

Buy a Lee Factory Crimp die. 30/30 SKU 90822, $14.98

:)
Last edited by FWiedner on Sun Dec 30, 2012 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Government office attracts the power-mad, yet it's people who just want to be left alone to live life on their own terms who are considered dangerous.