Would you load this powder ???????

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Boreman
Levergunner 3.0

Would you load this powder ???????

Post by Boreman »

I have been reloading for 50+ years, never seen this before ?
I opened a new can of IMR 4064 to reload some 35 Remington rounds. This is an older can that had the metal seal in the pour spout. This can had never been opened before and had always been stored in a cool dry powder cabinet. On pouring the powder into my powder measure a light brownish dust flouted out of the can. The powder had the typical "ether" smell of powder. I ignited some powder with a match and it flared up an burned like powder. So I wonder about the condition of the powder. Any idea's or comments, gentlemen? Would you use it ? :o Powder is hard to find !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Model-71's forever !!!!
NRA Patriot Life Member
Endowment level
FOPA #5
GOA,Inc
WVCDL,INC
Griff
Posting leader...

Re: Would you load this powder ???????

Post by Griff »

I don't know that I would use it... You might try contacting Hodgdon about it. Hodgdon now controls all distrubition of Hodgdon, Winchester and IMR powders. Just how old is it?
Griff,
SASS/CMSA #93
NRA Patron
GUSA #93

There is a fine line between hobby & obsession!
AND... I'm over it!!
No I ain't ready, but let's do it anyway!
jnyork
Advanced Levergunner

Post by jnyork »

I absolutely would not use it, it is deteriorating as evidenced by the "rust" and the ether smell. New powder does NOT have an ether smell. Sprinkle it on your roses, it's good fertilizer. Suck it up and buy some new powder. :D
M. M. Wright
Advanced Levergunner

Post by M. M. Wright »