Best target design for shooting groups?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Canuck Bob
Senior Levergunner

Best target design for shooting groups?

Post by Canuck Bob »

I am setting out on grouping my 223 bolt. I have no real experience with scopes. What target design gives you the best group with a "standard" hunting scope at 100 yards? For me it is a Leupold 4X Duplex reticle but I don't ever see anymore than 6X and standard reticles.

I have a bunch of printer paper recycling and hope to print my own once I get a design worked out. I see everything from circles, squares, crosses, and others?
jnyork
Advanced Levergunner

Re: Best target design for shooting groups?

Post by jnyork »

The smaller the better, I just use a 1" square black sticker on plain white paper.

All the fancy designs, grid marks, etc that you see on commercial targets are kinda like the fancy fishing lures designed to catch fishermen, pretty but not of much practical use.
Chuck 100 yd
Advanced Levergunner

Post by Chuck 100 yd »

First decide how much your cross hair covers up at 100 yd.. If it covers 1 1/2" at 100 yd. a 1" square wont even be seen. I like to shoot at a round bullseye with hunting scopes. I can center it up as well as any other.
M. M. Wright
Advanced Levergunner

Post by M. M. Wright »

I too have several scopes with 4X and duplex reticals. When sighting in I use a 2" square. I can see a little of each corner out past the hairs. I get repeatable results with this target.
M. M. Wright, Sheriff, Green county Arkansas (1860)
Currently living my eternal life.
NRA Life
SASS
ITSASS
66GTO
Levergunner 3.0

Post by 66GTO »