45 Colt velocity / effectiveness

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
deerwhacker444
Senior Levergunner

45 Colt velocity / effectiveness

Post by deerwhacker444 »

I've been doing a little shooting lately with my 45 Blackhawk that I acquired a few months ago. I think I've settled on a load combo, but I wanted to get your opinion anyhow.

I've been shooting this cast bullet from Hunters Supply. It is supposed to have a BHn of 15. I am fairly new to shooting cast, all my kills have been with jacketed bullets.

In front of 13.5 gr. of Bluedot, this bullet is averaging 937 fps out of my handgun. This combination seems to be accurate enough for my needs and recoil is manageable. I dug these bullets out of wet clay and I was surprised at how little they expanded.

I am by no means a pistolero, but I do like the idea of carrying this pistol during deer season just in case a deer wanders in to within 30 yards or so.

Understanding that shot placement is everything, will this load combo humanely dispatch a deer sized critter? I have no feel for how much velocity is actually needed to punch thru the vitals of a deer sized animal. I know I can zing an arrow thru them at 250 fps, but that's apples and oranges. I DO NOT want to wound and lose an animal because I was shooting a whimpy load. I know a .45" hole is fairly large and a bullet that large shouldn't need to expand much to get the job done

I remember reading on here, maybe it was Terry Murbach, who made a bunch of meat one time with a pistol that was shooting 800-900 fps but I don't remember any distances.

What do you think, is this powerful enough to get the job done?