OT- Reloading lube.

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Gun Smith
Levergunner 3.0

OT- Reloading lube.

Post by Gun Smith »

Interesting article in this mornings paper. Those of you who live in cold climates know about BAG BALM for your chapped skin. It was originally developed to medicate cows teats on dairy farms. It seems that a few people are using it to lube brass for resizing. Anyone here tried that?
mikld
Advanced Levergunner

Re: OT- Reloading lube.

Post by mikld »

Been using it for years (I was a mechanic), on my hands that is. It would prolly work good in a mix for boolit lube, but I think it's pretty expensive for that, but as a case lube sure it works.
Mike
Vocatus atque non vocatus, Deus aderit...
I've learned how to stand on my own two knees...
Don McDowell

Post by Don McDowell »

Been around bag balm all my life, but never thought of it for anything with guns. To taccy for a decent case lube, and not taccy enough for a bullet lube.
Works great for healing all sorts of sores tho...
perry owens
Levergunner 3.0

Post by perry owens »

I use a similar stuff called Udderly Smooth - I dip the bullets into it before loading them into my Snider rifles. Does a great job in keeping the fouling soft but it's too thin to use as a normal bullet lube.
http://www.udderlysmooth.co.uk/
When we lived in the US my wife used to ship tubs of it back home for her friends but now it is available in the UK.
Perry Owens
"Always carry a firearm east of Aldgate Watson."
Nath
Advanced Levergunner

Post by Nath »

Wow I never thought of that one. Good tip that is thanks!

Nath.
Psalm ch8.

Because I wish I could!
Pisgah