Savage inline muzzleloader ?

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Streetstar
Advanced Levergunner

Savage inline muzzleloader ?

Post by Streetstar »

Anyone have one of these -- or a similar one from Remington? (the ones that look like bolt rifles) I have zero interest in traditional muzzle loading equipment and would prefer to use pyrodex pellets if at all possible to simplify my life, however, the savage does take smokeless powder as well supposedly.
I have some limited experience with a T/C inline but was leaning towards one of the bolt rifle look alikes, or perhaps an Encore

I just want a tool to extend my hunting season a bit, not to re-capture a by-gone era or anything like that. And it would likely be equipped with a dreaded carrying handle as well.

Any real world in-the-field drawbacks to these rifles? Or maybe a link to a B/P discussion forum that addresses these things?
----- Doug
iceman
Senior Levergunner

Re: Savage inline muzzleloader ?

Post by iceman »

I had a rem 700ML it used #11 caps it shot pretty well. If you are using pellets you need a 209 ignition system to insure ignition. I sold it because being left handed I found it awkward and the bolt would open when I carried on my right shoulder on a sling. I bought a CVA wolf break action. I have only fired a few rounds using loose Pyrodox and open sights. I have just installed a set of Williams peeps have yet to sight in yet. My other with 7 notches is a Tradition Deer Hunter wich uses a slam fire type bolt and #11 caps, always goes bang and groups well with Hornady great plains lead bullets.