pig hunting

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
Mescalero
Advanced Levergunner

pig hunting

Post by Mescalero »

Seems we have some feral pigs up in our area, and some less fortunate folks who could use some meat.
I have never done this before, any tips on field dressing, etc.
Things to avoid?
RIHMFIRE
Advanced Levergunner

Re: pig hunting

Post by RIHMFIRE »

I dont bother field dressing feral hogs unless we plan to BBQ the entire side...
I usually just remove the hind quarters and the front shoulders and pull out the
back strap from the top of the neck right down to the tail....and if its a decent size
I'll pull the tenderlions....
LETS GO SHOOT'N BOYS
Old Savage
Posting leader...

Post by Old Savage »

The boys around here tend to have quite a bit made into sausage. Some of the best BBQ ribs I have had came from one and of course the obvious good parts. Hope you have a great Christmas there Mescalero and don't forget Festivus and the Feats of Strength begin today. :)
In the High Desert of Southern Calif. ..."on the cutting edge of going back in time"...

Mike Rintoul
Levergunner 2.0

Post by Mike Rintoul »

You don't have to gut them unless you're taking them a long ways before being able to cut them up. Split it down the back and remove backstraps. Extend cut down legs and circle shoulder blade to remove front. Repeat on back but find the hip ball joint and seperate. You need a saw to cut the pelvic extension to divide the two halves. I recommend elbow length gloves and thorough washing or meat and yourself due to a variety to swine carried unfriendlys. Good luck!
Mike Rintoul
Owner