A few 30-30 reload quesitons....

Welcome to the Leverguns.Com Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here ... politely.

Moderators: AmBraCol, Hobie

Forum rules
Welcome to the Leverguns.Com General Discussions Forum. This is a high-class place so act respectable. We discuss most anything here other than politics... politely.

Please post political post in the new Politics forum.
antilley
Levergunner 1.0

A few 30-30 reload quesitons....

Post by antilley »

I bought the Lee Pacesetter dies..... my assumption is one of the 3 dies is to just use some time of charging system while on press? (30-30)

Since, I am a little new to reloading I have been loading a little light....

Federal primers
Unique 11 gr
Cast 155 RN Gas checked

So, I was a little baffled for a while and then went forward with the assumption that you don't bell the mouths?

First couple I finished had WAY to much crimp and wouldn't chamber. I backed the crimp back to almost nothing and ended up seating them with an OAL at around 2.4 ... Does one need to be careful to ensure the round sits deep enough even though it cycles fine?

.... It also didn't dawn on me that likely if you are going to crimp you need to be on the crimp groove :) Live and learn i guess.

Again thank you for answer many of my noob questions......
Chuck 100 yd
Advanced Levergunner

Re: A few 30-30 reload quesitons....

Post by Chuck 100 yd »

You do need to expand and bell the case mouth so the bullet can be seated without damage.
If you use a roll crimp and over do it and seat at the same time you may have buckled the shoulder and the resulting bulge right at the shoulder may be preventing the round from chambering. Also some bullets are too large to enter the chamber throat area
and need to be seated deeper.

So, you see there are many things that could be going on there.